Exploring Larena, Siquijor

Larena is one of the six towns that make up Siquijor, the 3rd smallest province in the Philippines after Batanes and Camiguin. It is one of two towns in Siquijor province that is named after a former governor of Negros Oriental, the province that Siquijor once belonged to.

View from atop of Larena's hills
View from atop of Larena's hills

Evolution of Town's Name

During the Spanish colonial era, Larena was known as Can-oan. The town's name was changed in 1901 by the first Filipino governor of Negros Oriental and Siquijor, Demetrio Larena. He named it Larena after himself, an act duly approved by the Philippine legislature.

Center of Trade and Education

Larena was once the capital town of Siquijor province since the Spanish times until 1972 when the capital was transferred to the municipality of Siquijor, a year after Siquijor became an independent province by virtue of Republic Act 6398. This was after a plebiscite was done on 8 November 1971, results of which was confirmed by Proclamation 1075.

Despite no longer the capital, Larena has maintained its status as the main trading hub of the province. It has Siquijor's biggest seaport, served by at least five (5) commercial shipping companies plying routes from Dumaguete City in Negros Oriental, Plaridel in Misamis Occidental, Tagbilaran City in Bohol, and Cebu City. 

Larena is also the home of the first tertiary education institution in Siquijor, the Siquijor State College. Prior to 2006, it was the only tertiary education institution in the entire province of Siquijor. The Lazi campus of the Siquijor State College was opened in 2006.

Places of Interest

Sandugan Beach Boulevard 

The Sandugan Boulevard is occupies a stretch of the Siquijor Circumferential Road by Sandugan Beach. It is lined up with fifty six (56) lamp posts that illumine the street at night. The boulevard is a fantastic place to watch an amazing sunset in the island.

Sandugan Boulevard
Sandugan Beach Boulevard

Triad Coffee Shop and Restaurant 

The Triad Restaurant and Coffee Shop atop Larena's verdant hills is so named because it offers a vantage view of the three other major islands of the Central Visayas region: Cebu, Negros, and Bohol. It is also on the boundary of three barangays: Nonoc, Cang-alias, and Cangbagsa. Since it is on top of a hill, the Triad offers breathtaking views overlooking the island, as well as part of the coast and seascape.

Triad Coffee Shop and Restaurant
Triad Restaurant and Coffee Shop

Cangbangag Falls

Cangbangag Falls is the lesser known of three (3) major waterfalls in the island. The other two (2) are Cambugahay Falls in Lazi and Lugnason Falls in San Juan.
Share on Google Plus